Setting goals

Cross Ankle Invert w/ pole hold

(Image from Becky Simmons on Flickr via Creative Commons)

My specific athletic goals for this year lie in a couple different areas. First, I want to finally complete a 5k race (without walking; I could obviously do it right now if I didn’t have to run the whole way). In order to get there, I’m gradually working up to being able to run the entire distance. Right now, I’m not sure I could easily run even one mile. So for the next few months, I’ll be alternating running and walking during my treadmill sessions at the gym, gradually increasing running time and decreasing walking time.

Since I live near the mountains, hiking is a favorite activity of mine. I’ve wanted for a couple of years to climb Pikes Peak. I did a Pikes Peak descent a couple summers ago, and I climb at least one 14er every summer, but I haven’t done an ascent of Pikes Peak yet. This is one of my goals for this summer. The terrain itself is not difficult, but the distance (13 miles) and the gain in elevation (over 7000 feet) makes it a challenging hike.

Pikes Peak

(Photo from Adventures in Librarianship on Flickr via Creative Commons)

While I enjoy running, my true passion is for pole fitness. I’ve been taking classes since last summer, but I still have a long way to go. I need to gain tremendous strength and significant flexibility in order to be able to do the things I want to do. That will be an important area of focus for me as I athleticize myself this year. (Yes, I totally just made up that word. I think it’s a pretty good one. šŸ™‚ )

I also have goals that are more general. I’d like to shift my body composition more towards muscle and–I can’t think of a more polite way to say this–lose some of my rolls. I’m in the normal weight range, and I don’t have any specific weight in mind that I’d like to reach, but a change in composition would be nice.

I’ll provide updates on what I’m doing to work toward these various goals throughout the year. I’m also hoping for “Mission Accomplished” posts for a couple of these before the year is over.

Leave a Reply

